…My Village…

Today’s devotion struck a chord with me. My life, by our own design, is complete chaos with kids’ schedules. I’ve consciously chosen to ignore housework, dishes, laundry, yard work, etc. 

It’s not that I don’t WANT a clean house. It’s that I don’t PRIORITIZE it over time spent with my kids. 

Since I don’t have a neat-nick bone in my body, I really have to set my mind to cleaning. Unfortunately picking up after myself doesn’t come naturally…not even a little bit. 

The flip side of this is that sometimes the mess and chaos overwhelms me, and I go into complete psycho mode. My family loves it. (And here’s a tissue for the sarcasm dripping everywhere.)

That’s where my village comes in. My parents come visit, and unprompted they find a chore and do it. Friends visit and, knowing I hate doing it myself, they help me organize the refrigerator. 

These are small things to them that mean the world to me. I’d never ask them to do them – because they ARE small things for which I should need no help. And if they offered, certainly I’d turn them down. 

God placed the grace in them to sense my need, to sense my angst, and to step in where I need it most. His timing is perfect through them. 

We all have it in us to be His grace for another. Seek ways to lift another up. Be that “third string” to make the cord unbreakable. 

Leave a Reply

